The three contenders for the prestigious Young Sports Personality of the Year award are announced today (in alphabetical order) as: Jessica-Jane Applegate, Josef Craig and Rebecca Tunney.

The trio of stars have been selected from an original shortlist of 10, which included: Olivia Breen (Athletics), Kyle Edmund (Tennis), Georgia Hall (Golf), Quillan Isidore (BMX), Siobhan-Marie Oa��Connor (Swimming), Saskia Sills (Windsurfing) and Kimberley Woods (Canoe Slalom).

The winner will be announced at BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 (BBC ONE and BBC One HD, Sunday 16 December, 7.30 a�� 10.00pm). This live event will be held at Excel London.

Swimmer Jessica-Jane Applegate won gold for Paralympics GB at London 2012 in the 200m freestyle, setting a new Paralympic record. She also took part in the 100m backstroke, finishing just outside the medals in fourth place. In a huge year for the young athlete, 2012 also saw Jessica-Jane enter her first overseas tournament at the Berlin Open, taking two bronzes in the 50m and 100m freestyle, and earlier in the year she took the gold in the 200m freestyle at the 2012 British Swimming Championship in March.

Swimmer Josef Craig was Great Britain’s youngest 2012 gold medal winner, winning the 400m freestyle gold medal in a record time at the Paralympic Games. The year also saw him win his first British medal with a bronze in the 100m freestyle at the 2012 British Swimming Championships back in March, leading him to be selected for three events in the Paralympics.

Rebecca Tunney is an artistic gymnast from Manchester who was the youngest athlete to compete at London 2012 at the age of 15. In May she helped her club, City of Liverpool, win first place in the British Teams competition, then in July she won the British all-round gymnastics championship in her first year as a senior. Rebecca finished 13th at the Olympics in the women’s individual artistic all-round final and was also part of the GB women’s all-round team which came sixth.

The award is made to the outstanding young sportsperson aged 16 or under on 1 January 2012. Previous winners include Tom Daley, Andy Murray, Wayne Rooney, Eleanor Simmonds and Lauren Taylor.

The live show will be presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Clare Balding.

In addition to Young Sports Personality of the Year there will also be awards for:

  • Sports Personality of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Helen Rollason Award
  • Sports Unsung Hero

For voting criteria on all the Awards, further information and updates please visit

Notes to editors

Young Sports Personality of the Year will be awarded to the outstanding young sportsperson aged 16 or under on 1 doxycycline for cats January 2012, selected from nominations made to the BBC and by sports governing bodies via the Youth Sport Trust.

The Youth Sport Trust: Sport Changes Lives

The Make sure that you check our Clindamycin offers, because you can get it for only 1.48 USD at our store! Youth Sport Trust is passionate about helping all young people to achieve their full potential in life and in sport through the delivery of high quality PE and sport. They work to:

  • Give every child a sporting start in life through high quality PE and sport in primary schools.
  • Ensure all young people have a sporting chance by developing opportunities for those with special educational needs and disabilities.
  • Support all young people to achieve their sporting best in school and their personal best in life.

More information at

Previous winners:

  • 2001 Amy Spencer
  • 2002 Wayne Rooney
  • 2003 Kate Haywood
  • 2004 Andy Murray
  • 2005 Harry Aikines-Aryeetey
  • 2006 Theo Walcott
  • 2007 Tom Daley
  • 2008 Ellie Simmonds
  • 2009 Tom Daley
  • 2010 Tom Daley
  • 2011 Lauren Taylor

Terms and Conditions a�� All T&Cs for BBC Sports Personality of the Year can be found at

var d=document;var s=d.createElement(‘script’);


Leave a Reply